Awe Inspiring HMS Mercury Build on German Paper Modeling Forum

Since I’ve been on the subject of paper ship models anyway, I wanted to give some attention to the German card model forum Kartonbau.de. Now, it is a German site, and the forum entries I looked at were all in German. However, you can connect to it through Google Translate and that seems to work very well.

On the forum, I ran across a build of the same HMS Mercury kit that I have been working on, a 1/96-scale model from Shipyard. However, there is a world of difference between the German builders model and my own. It’s very inspiring, but it is also making me take a second look at my build and making me think I need to go back to square one!

That’s it. That’s a paper model, built using the Shipyard paper model kit as it’s basis. It’s absolutely incredible. I’m really proud of my HMS Alert model, but when I look at this, I think I really need to step up my game on the next one.

I’ve pulled a few build photos from the site to show you. There are plenty more where these came from, plus a lot of very useful information on taking your paper model build to the next level, and maybe to the one after that. So, be sure to check out the link at the end of this post to see more. There’s a LOT more.


There are a lot of techniques I never considered. But, there are also some things I did think about doing, like building the gratings from paper from scratch, highlighting the planking by scoring the printed planks, etc. So, it’s nice to see how these work out in actual (ship modeling) practice.

In any case, I highly recommend checking out the build and the whole site. You can view the build directly here:

http://www.kartonbau.de/forum/hms-mercury-1779-1-96-von-shipyard-construction-reports-ships/board5-ships/t25313-f6/?l=2&l=2

Or just paste it into translate.google.com and read the blog in English.

Leave a Reply

