Daily Archives: May 1, 2017

Japanese Boats Diorama Exhibit in Tokyo, April 29 – May 14

A pretty awesome display of models if you happen to be in Tokyo in the next couple of weeks.

Wasen Modeler

I just learned that there is a special exhibit taking place at the Tokyo Museum of Maritime Science of a diorama of late Edo period Japanese boats. The exhibit will be in the museum lobby from April 29th through May 14th, 2017.

The exhibit features 1/70-scale models built by Mr. Yukio Nakayama. You might recall in a prior post that I only discovered his work in December of last year, and he instantly became my wasen modeling hero.

This exhibit, according a report by The Rope, is made up of 200 models of 120 different kinds, and includes some 50 structures such as shrines, temples, warehouses and even a lighthouse from the late Edo period.

When I first learned about Mr. Nakayama, I’d contacted my ship modeling friends in Japan, who investigated on my behalf. Yesterday, they reached out that they went to the opening of the exhibit and met…

View original post 302 more words

Building Woody Joe’s Shinmei-zukuri Shrine – Part III

Last time, I finished step 2 of Woody Joe’s Shinmei-zukuri shrine kit, which dealt with the basic core structure of the shrine. In Step 3, I’ll start work on the roof and some of the outer details.

The Instructions Again

Reviewing the instructions for the next task, parts 9A, 9B and 9C will be needed, noting again that there are two of parts 9A and 9C, but only one 9B. Again, these are laser-cut piece on sheet number 9. This is in a different bag, but again, the bags are clearly marked and so are the individual sheets as you can see below.

Continue reading