Douglas Brook in Japan

I’ve been in touch with boat builder Douglas Brooks, and I’ve known of his work in Japan this Spring. But, looking at his blog and seeing photos he and his wife have posted on Facebook and Blogger, I can’t begin to describe how envious I am of this man’s life and work. To be doing such things and spending months in Japan working and studying in the out of the way locations in the country is just incredible.

I am truly hoping with all my heart, that I will be able to make the trip to Japan this Fall and wishing as strongly that it could be a longer visit. For now, I’ll be checking Douglas’ blog on a daily basis, thoroughly studying his book Traditional Japanese Boatbuilding, and collecting drawings and taking notes.

You can check out his blog at http://blog.douglasbrooksboatbuilding.com. And, of course, if you want a better understanding of what he’s doing, buy a copy of his book!

Leave a Reply

