Mary Taylor Article

It’s been several months since I completed it, but an article I wrote about the building of the New York pilot boat Mary Taylor, 1850, is about to see print. The ship model magazine Seaways’ Ships in Scale sent me the proofs of the first installment of the article a couple weeks ago. They’re also planning on using it on the cover of the upcoming issue, the March/April 2013.

I started the build a couple years ago now, and I was posting regularly on the Model Ship World web site, so many people have already seen the build and provided their feedback. I’ve also had some fellow ship modelers, who happen to have a background in the publishing industry, read over my article before I submitted it. Everyone seems to think it’s a fine article. But, one can’t help but be a little nervous as to what kind of reaction to expect among the readership.

Image

I mean, it’s built from scratch, but how good of a model is it, really? And is my writing really that interesting. It’s nice to think the writing and the content are interesting to people, but people who know you are more likely to be supportive than critical. So, we’ll just have to see if there is any kind of reaction by the readership. As for the quality of the build itself, the Nautical Research Guild is having their second Photographic Ship Model Contest this Summer and I’m planning on entering the model. While I’ve shown models in a couple county fairs, those are general wood craft contests and not about ship modeling. This one is just about ship modeling, and there will be a lot of very fine entries.

Mary Taylor-Hess-607

Mary Taylor-Hess-619

Mary Taylor-Hess-314

In any case, having the article in print doesn’t mean the model is great, just that I wrote something that the publisher thinks the readership will find the writing and the model interesting.   And, this is just the first installment. I’m not sure how many parts the article will have to get cut into. I imagine about 5. So, people should be quite sick of the model by the end of the year.

One thought on “Mary Taylor Article

  1. Shelley

    Great article! We will be linking to this great post on our website.
    Keep up the good writing.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

